What went wrong??

A coworker that usually works remotely was in the office this week.  We were talking one day over IM and I promised her that I would make a cake for the week she was in.  I decided on a lemon pound cake.  It was going well until…..

Ingredients

Image

Mixing the batter

Image

Ready to bake

Image

WTF?  I have no idea how this keeps happening.  Burnt, split (yes, I do know it;s upside down;) )The worst part is I usually have to leave the cake in longer than the suggested cooking time.  I may have to invest in an oven thermometer to make sure that it is the correct temp.  That is the only thing that I can think of that would cause this.

Image

I forged ahead and glazed the cake.  It looks good, but other people are supposed to eat this!!  I am so embarrassed.  I told them all I was making it, too.  I suppose with the other cakes the batter was dark enough that it didn’t look that bad.  I really hope it isn’t going to be a big flop 😦  I’m gonna have to leave a note that it is over done or something

Image

Nevermind – figured out what I did wrong.

2 responses to “What went wrong??

    • I used to have one at a different apartment because that oven didn’t even have numbers on the dial!! I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner!

Leave a Reply

