Oven thermometer opens my eyes!

I picked up an oven thermometer today in light of my recent burnt cake.  I discovered that my oven runs about 50 to 75 degrees too hot!!  When I first put it in and turned the oven to 375, when the oven said it was pre-heated, the thermometer only read 300!  I bumped up the heat – mistake.  That took it into the 400s.  Luckily I am just oven poaching some chicken for two upcoming recipes, so not too much damage.  I am going to have to take some time and find out how far it is off and if it can even hold a temperature.  If not, I am going to get the apt management involved…one of the few perks in renting 🙂  I will update when I do the full testing.

Leave a Reply

