Yes, salmon patties can be good

I don’t know about you, but I grew up with my mom making huge patties of canned salmon.  They were like a half inch think and gross.  I liked them at one point, but eventually stopped eating them.  Recently, I found a recipe for these that actually looked pretty good.  I bought the salmon and it sat there for a while until I got up the nerve – lol.  I only made a half a recipe (as usual) so I didn’t have to worry about eating 4 servings if I didn’t like it.

Ingredients – minus the celery salt because I forgot.  I was going to replace it with the seasoning in the front, but I ended up just leaving it out.

I mixed it all up and tried to take a picture, but no matter what I did, it kept looking like cat food.  I tried different settings, different positions and every time – cat food.  Instead, here they are shaped and frying

I had some problems with the patties.  They fell apart slightly and they were a bit sticky when I was making them.

Look at the crust on these things.  If you don’t have a non-stick pan, the olive oil in the recipe is essential.

I added some corn and Rice Orzo Pilaf from Trader Joe’s to make a complete dinner.  Instead of the mayo from the original post, I added this stuff as a condiment.

I can’t believe how much I like it.  It was a spur of the moment purchase and I am glad I did.  I have used it in so many ways since buying it.

Dinner!  I couldn’t decide which picture I liked better, so here’s both of them 🙂

I really enjoyed the patties.  Much more than I ever thought I would.  I really wanted to go back and eat the other serving, but I restrained myself.  Once I gave it time, this was a really filling dinner.

I completely forgot to add the garlic until I was writing the recipe in my own little cookbook.  I think it would definitely add another dimension.  I also tried to grate the onion so there weren’t big onion chunks to bite into, but that kind of failed.  I can’t wait to make these again.  With ALL of the original ingredients – lol.  Even the issues with forming the patties won’t stop me!!

(Edited to correct the link – sorry!!)

Leave a Reply

