Searching for a cookie for breakfast

I love oatmeal raisin cookies.  I hate oatmeal.  I know it is good for you and it is good to have different breakfasts in your arsenal so it doesn’t get boring.  I found this recipe over at Macheesmo last year I think.  It was the first one that even remotely looked appetizing.  I made it and loved it.  I didn’t put it in milk, but I did throw it in the toaster oven in the morning to get heated up.  I haven’t made it for a while, so I am excited about this rendition.  I added something a little extra.
Ingredients – missing eggs of course.  What will you do if I ever have an ingredients picture with all of the needed items?? I would probably pass out

Mixing the liquid ingredients.  I used my immersion blender to mix everything.  I don’t get to use it nearly enough and I thought it would help.  I also was pouring melted butter into eggs and didn’t thing I could mixed fast enough so the eggs didn’t scramble.  This is also the step that I realized that I forgot the nutmeg.  Not a huge loss to me, since I am not a huge fan

I added these with the oatmeal – so my thumb’s a little funky, so what??:

And mixed it all up and put it into a square baking pan.  I think next time I want to try baking it in a pie pan.

You store it over night and bake it in the morning.  I waited until after I was done with work to bake it.  I didn’t want to take the time to bake it in the morning.  It is hard enough getting out of bed to go to the gym let alone do some baking:

I usually cut it into 8 slices and eat it with some milk.  I wrap it in foil so that I can bake/heat it up in the toaster oven at work.  If I remember correctly, it is pretty filling.  I am excited about the addition of raisins to this round of baking.  It was definitely good enough to add into the handwritten cookbook.

On a not completely unrelated note, I found out that if you bake something with garlic and something resembling cookies, the tastes do not meld as you would think.

Leave a Reply

