Noodle substitution gone bad

I was going to show you the Vegetable Lo Mein recipe that I had pictured in a resurrection post.  I was going to be happy and eat my noodley goodness.  I was going to be soooo smart and substitute the rice noodles in the fridge instead of working harder to find some soba noodles.  If you couldn’t tell, it was a complete failure.  I don’t know if I didn’t cook them enough or too much or if they are just not made for warm dishes, but I ended up with some veggies and mush.  I am trying to have it for lunch tomorrow, but I have a bad feeling that the other two servings will go the way of the dodo.  (Edit to add – yep.  Crap.  Tossing) I be not happy and I be not sharing those pictures.

Slightly related, anyone have any recipes for napa cabbage?  I got over a half a head to use up.

I can however, show you the experiment with the split chicken breasts I bought.  I am not a fan of bone on chicken.  I am a bit squeamish when it comes to that stuff.  Why did I buy them?  Cause I needed chicken and look at this deal:

I cut the rib part off the chicken, why?  Because the interwebs told me to, that’s why.  If any of you are squeamish – there is a definite *HURK* factor here.  I also trimmed some of the excess fat on *HURK*.  I took some oil and garlic and basted them a little with it and even tried to get some under the skin *DOUBLE HURK* and got them ready for the oven:

Put them in for 40 minutes at 350.  When I took them out, the temperature was just below 165.  I put them back in for another 15 minutes, but 5-10 would probably be enough.

Closeup

There is just something about pulling the chicken off the bone.  I don’t like the texture of the chicken that is closest to the bone.  I don’t have this much issue with fried chicken.  I don’t know if I am cooking it wrong or what.  I might try it in the skillet next time and see what it is like.  For my next recipe, I will be using the good old boneless/skinless chicken breast.

Leave a Reply

