Eating the same thing…..I’m ok this time

This is the second chicken salad I have made for this blog and this one comes from the exact same cookbook as the first. I definitely enjoyed this one, but I think there is something missing from it. I must like it because I am having it for Lunch today, Dinner tonight and lunch again tomorrow šŸ˜€

Ingredients – minus the chicken. This time, it was intentional. Do you know how hard it is to get a good photo of chicken breast in a bag? It looks a little creepy. I didn’t end up using the canola oil, but I will get to that

Dressing – Yes, it is almost the EXACT color of my dishes *SIGH*

This is where I was contemplating adding more onion, but did not. I will see how it is today to form a solid opinion and mark up the cookbook (I LOVE doing that!!)

This is where I decided the recipe writers were insane. The original recipe calls for 1/8 cup canola oil and 1/3 cup of Cajun seasoning…..1/3 CUP???? The oil isn’t really that much, but I couldn’t get over the amount of seasoning that they wanted you to use! Well, since I was using this handy thing:

I completely cut out all the oil. I still covered the chicken in seasoning, but it wasn’t even close to half of 1/3 cup (did I mention I was making a half recipe?) I think I still managed to get enough on there. I also pounded out the chicken so it was the same thickness. This helped in only having to cook this for about 4 minutes. I think this is the biggest problem with people complaining about dry chicken. They really don’t realize how little time it takes to cook them – especially if they are the same thickness.

All done! Making you droll isn’t it? šŸ˜‰

Messy all mixed up picture. I had to move it to another container to mix and back again – hence the messy. Still keep in mind this is a HALF recipe. I made it into 4 servings at about 6 ounces each. according to the recipe, this is supposed to be 3 servings at over 7.5 ounces each!! I think I am good with this šŸ™‚

Here’s part of my dinner. I paired it with corn topped with butter and pepper……the pepper might have been a mistake.

It was really good. Different, but good. I want to eat my lunch now even – lol. The bread was iffy, I don’t think it had what it takes to hold chicken salad of that caliber. I probably will add more onions next time. I think the whole thing is missing something sweet. Not overwhelmingly, but just a burst every once in a while. I love corn…..I wonder if corn would work in it. Or even dried cranberries. Something that would not clash with the mustard in the dressing.

Is it lunch time yet? šŸ˜‰

 

Leave a Reply

