Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

I have been wanting to make this recipe for a while, but with all the past dough fiascos, I was a little wary.  I dove in anyways and enlisted the help of a friend with the taste testing.  He happily obliged 🙂  Now my friend is a self-professed pizza snob/aficionado.  He liked it, so I would say it is a hit recipe.  I actually left my part at his house last night and I am regretting my lazy decision today.  I WANT MY PIZZA!!  lol.  I am definitely going to be making this again…..and soon.

Sauce Ingredients

I didn’t get any pictures of the actual sauce making because I was multi-tasking.  I basically followed the directions on the website above.  The only thing I changes was I didn’t add the olive-oil at the end and I only had dried basil on hand.  I made do and it was good.  I was skeptical of the sugar in the sauce – I have other methods to cut the acid from the tomatoes – but I stuck with it.  I am so glad that I did.

Dough Ingredients – missing some butter.  Yep, there’s more butter 🙂

I mixed it all up, but I don’t have a fancy schmancy mixer with a dough hook.  The closest I have is this:

Now, these will give your arms a workout.  I had some trouble holding on.  These mixers move fast and trying to hold them while kneading dough.  I got it done though.  I had to put it in a smaller bowl so it would all catch together.  I never really got it smooth – I think because of the cornmeal.  It didn’t seem to affect the final result, though.  It rose on the counter once, then slathered with butter and rose again in the fridge.  While it was doing that, I got my pan ready.  Instead of using a cake pan, I went with a springform pan to make serving and cutting easier.

I didn’t use 2 tablespoons though.  I poured some in and used a basting brush to spread it around

I had one drip that concerned me about leakage with the pan.  I didn’t have any other problems with it.  To be safe, when I baked the pizza, I put a pan underneath.  I think it may have had a few drips in it.

I prepared the dough in the pan and got ready to transport it about 20 minutes away.  I was concerned the trip would affect the dough or make it ookey.  Maybe even rise more.  Last thing I needed was a pan full of dough with no room for cheese and sauce!  What kind of pizza would that be?  Maybe make breadsticks?  Mmmmmm….breadsticks.

All dressed up and ready to bake.  I added some sausage that you can’t see.  I had trouble deciding where to put it.  Mix it in with the sauce?  On top of the sauce?  On top of the cheese?  The expert pizza guy kept saying “You’re the cook”  I threatened to cut him if he didn’t have an opinion 🙂  It worked.  I put it on the top of the cheese and then the sauce last.

Looking at the two pictures, I can see it did puff up a little.  Maybe I should add a quick rise before baking next time?

It took the entire 30 minutes to cook and get the crust browning on top, but the hardest part was waiting to cut it.

But when I did – OMG!  The sauce started to slide off after I cut it, but it didn’t matter.

It was fantastic.  I was so happy with the results.  The connoisseur was happy with the results.  He truly liked it.  It was a great compliment.  It was also great fodder to use for the rest of the day.  If he annoyed me, I could threaten to take away the pizza 😀 – and I did, often.  I really want to make this again.  The sauce was great.  The dough was good – nice and crispy.  Right about of cheese. – just good.  I made it so a quarter of a pie is a single serving, but with a salad, an eighth of the pie would be plenty.  I wasn’t hungry for about 3-4 hours after eating this.  I wanted to eat all of it, though.  I am off to write this in the hand-written cookbook – tootles!!

 

One response to “Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

  1. Pingback: Just whipping it up | Grab a plate

Leave a Reply

