Spinach Orzo

This is a recipe that I have made a few times.  I am not sure if I made it while “on the wagon” of dieting or not, so I made a mistake in this rendition.  I am pretty much a sucker for anything that uses orzo.  This is, by far, my favorite pasta with ditalini and elbows rounding out the podium.  Ok, ok, I am an orzo slut.  I admit it.  I should go to meetings.  I even love orzo cooked in chicken broth and nothing else.  Try it the next time you aren’t feeling well.  With white buttered toast on the side cut into triangles of course.  You’ll thank me 😉

I apologize for the lack of pictures with this post.  It is a relatively simple side dish and there are so few steps that I forgot!

Ingredients (I only made half the recipe linked)

After adding the spinach.  I don’t think there’s enough.  Do you?

Finished in the pot

Now, it was a little underdone and here’s why.  I didn’t measure out a cup of orzo, I went by the weight they listed instead.  There was definitely not enough broth/water to cook that weight of orzo.  Next time, I will measure the cup, then weigh to get the correct balance.

It’s a light tasting dish and the carrots and spinach are not overwhelming despite the green lagoon picture above.  This is one that I will come back to again and again.  It is so easy and quick to make.  This can simmer while you are cooking the main dish and heating up veggies.  As you can see, I neglected the veggies with my dinner.  Um, I wasn’t feeling good? 😀

I also want to touch on some shortcuts that I am sure you have noticed by now.  When a recipe calls for garlic or broth, I don’t usually have it on hand.  I forget about the broth or I just don’t buy it because half a can always goes to waste.  Garlic tends to form a life of its own in my house.  Literally.  I think there is a family of garlic living in my meat drawer.  I tried to open it and was attacked by the guard ginger they adopted.  Instead, I rely on my good friends Penzey’s.  You see them in most of my posts with seasonings.  Even if they have been stored in mason jars.  I use their dehydrated garlic as a replacement for minced garlic.  Rehydrate it in a little water, drain and voila – garlic.  It truly does taste like normal garlic to me.  I also love that it is already in small pieces.  I do not like biting into a hunk o garlic in my food.  The other is soup base.  Above, I used the vegetable because I just thought it was more appropriate in the dish than chicken (which I also have in my fridge).   Mix it with some hot water to dissolve it and voila – broth. 🙂  I never got the beef or pork soup base, though.  I don’t know why.  I am afraid the beef will smell like dog food…….kind of like beef broth does.  Something just seems wrong about pork soup base.  I don’t know what, but it keeps me up at night.  Same with the seafood.  *shudder*  I just checked and it looks like they have Ham and Turkey now, too.  Yeaaaaa, I don’t think so.  MAYBE the turkey.

One other thing I love is kitchen shears.  I use them for everything.  Cutting up the spinach and carrot shreds above, but I have also used them when trimming meant or chicken and I am just having some issues.  I’ve even used it for cutting lunchmeat.  Don’t ask.  Just believe.

Hope you found that useful!  I will try and remember to post more shortcuts that I use often on other posts.

Leave a Reply

