Spicy Orange Shrimp

I love shrimp.  I love orange sauce.  When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it.  I did it a little differently than the original cook.  I worry about shrimp being over cooked, so I cooked that separate from the sauce.  It look a little longer to reduce it to what I prefer in a sauce, but it was so worth it.  I love this recipe.  It is going into my hand written book.  I may have to actually measure out the red pepper flakes next time, though.  Whew!!
Ingredients – all I had to buy was the juice and shrimp

Ingredients all mixed up in the clear measuring cup.  This made it easier to measure most of the liquids.  Just pour it in until the top of the liquid moves to the correct level.

I put the sauce on to simmer while I peeled and cleaned the shrimp.  It takes me some time because I absolutely despise the “vein” in shelled shrimp.  I don’t care what you say, I know it’s not a vein.  I know what it is!  And I AM NOT GONNA EAT IT!  That is why I never eat shelled steamed shrimp.  At this point, I was getting a little concerned because it smelled so strongly of soy sauce, I thought that would be the only flavor.

I cooked up the shrimp and added the sauce in.  I cooked them together a little more – until all the shrimp were cooked.

At that point, I took out the shrimp and put them with the portions of rice that I set up.  I got 4 pretty good servings out of this recipe as you can see.

I was going to store the sauce in separate containers, but of course, one fell on the floor 😐  I did have a reason for the separation – it was basically so the rice wouldn’t absorb the sauce.  And seeing how hot this got, it would’ve been nice to have the rice as a cooling down type accessory to the meal.  Yea, I have no idea what word I was looking for there, but you get my drift.  I had a picture of the spill, but it kind of looked…..like a potty accident?  Yea, that’s all I am going to say about that 😮

Here was my dinner last night

It was soo good.  The sauce tasted of soy sauce, but not as overwhelmingly as I had thought earlier.  It was definitely spicy, but that was my own fault.  I am wondering if I can do this with chicken.  Maybe even as a sauce on the side.  Try it, love it, thank the lady from the website 😀

2 responses to “Spicy Orange Shrimp

  1. Looks like it turned out well! Thanks for linking it back to my blog! I am glad you enjoyed it… And yes, this sauce totally works with chicken!

Leave a Reply

