Chicken and Potatoes

I made a whole big dinner on Sunday – why?  Who knows.  I just wanted something yummy and comforting.  I decided to try my hand at scalloped potatoes.  I didn’t take pictures of the process because I didn’t know I was going to be posting about it!  Oops – lol.  The recipe is really simple.  Potatoes sliced thin, butter dotted on the layers, flour sprinkled on the layers (before the butter) and salt.  Bake and voila – scalloped potatoes.  I didn’t add enough salt (I never do), but they were still pretty good.  These are nothing like the boxed scalloped potatoes that I was expecting.  I wasn’t expecting the exact same taste, but something slightly similar.  You know, nice and saucy and so addicting taht you just want to eat it with a spoon in one sitting.  Not to say they aren’t good – just not what I was hoping for.  Maybe I sliced the potatoes too thin?  Hopefully, I will have better luck when I try the au gratin potatoes.

Finished:

I also made a whole chicken.  Not sure why, I only eat the chicken breasts!  I think I am going to pull the rest of the meat off and save it for a soup.  I am pretty sure that is the only way that I can eat dark meat.  I think I want to try and make a chicken stew.  Although, I might just abandon that for a sure fire recipe: Chicken Pot Pie Soup!  So thick and yummy!

Back to the chicken at hand:  This one was done simply – at the same time as the potatoes.  I got butter and rubbed it all over and under the skin – not a pretty job, trust me.  I put a carrot, celery and some onion in the cavity along with a couple bay leaves.  Why?  I don’t know.  I think I read it somewhere 😀  I used Penzey’s Shallot Pepper as the seasoning.  It was FANTASTIC.  I am so excited about this seasoning now.  I may have to go buy a big bag of it.  I don’t really like Lemon Pepper and I think this will be a perfect substitute.  It wasn’t too peppery, but full of flavor.  I even had a piece of skin and i never do that with Lemon Pepper

Finished Chicken:

I had leftovers for a day or two.  Still need to work on the potatoes, though.  I have them on the menu for tonight as a side to a turkey burger.  I think they will be good for breakfast, too.  Kind of like home fries or hash browns.  See – really simple, but seemingly decadent dinner.  The prep wasn’t too long, and the oven did the rest.  Approx 1.5 hours for both at 350.  I had to cover the potatoes for part of it so they wouldn’t burn, but all in all, SUCCESS  😉

Leave a Reply

