Baked Stuffed Pasta

I had a whole nice meal planned out this weekend, but I never made it to the store.  Instead, I whipped up a baked pasta dish.  I make baked pasta a lot.  It’s easy, cheap, filling and diverse.  I have made it flavored like pizza even.  This time, I had some leftover sausage and ricotta, so I made more of a lasagna type thing.

Ingredients:

The sausage isn’t included, because, quite honestly, it looked gross.  It was in the freezer and still partially frozen.  I mixed the ricotta, sausage, egg white and some mozzarella for the filling.  You may want to throw some salt in here, too.  I found mine lacking.  I think it was because I didn’t think to add Parmesan cheese, too

I wanted something different, so I used spaghetti.  Honestly, it wasn’t quite enough.  I made two batches because I underestimated what I needed.  Then, the second half wasn’t cooked much so it kept breaking.  I just don’t have much patience when it comes to my stove and boiling water.  It takes FOREVER to get anything boiling on the damn thing.  Hopefully, it will be better when I move 🙂

Mix the sauce and pasta together.  Then, put half in the bottom of the casserole dish.  Spread the cheese mixture on top of the pasta.  Top with the rest of the pasta.  Finally, top off with shredded mozzarella.  The cheese you see below should be at least doubled.

Bake it at around 350-375 until it looks good 🙂  I think mine was in for about 40 minutes.

There was a lot of cheese in the middle and not enough on top – lol.  It definitely needed more cheese on top.  While I like some crunchy pasta, this was just a little too crunchy for me.  It was almost like eating it raw  More sauce would have helped this problem.  The spaghetti was a fun experiment, but I think I will stick to the other pasta shapes for baking.  It seems like they hold up a little better.  It’s to the point that I rarely eat spaghetti, so I wanted to get it a try.

 

EDIT TO ADD:

I can’t believe I forgot to post my dinner picture!! Forgive me?  The toast with it is actually not burnt, it is whole wheat garlic toast.  I was trying to get a side view so you could see the filling.  It did not work – lol

Leave a Reply

