Slow Cooker Breakfast Casserole

I am always on the lookout for new breakfast recipes. The same old over and over gets, well, old. I saw the recipe on Iowa Girl Eats. I love her page and her recipes are always so healthy. Don’t even get me started on the tuna casserole recipe – YUM! http://iowagirleats.com/2012/11/13/crock-pot-breakfast-casserole/

Ingredients

I cut the recipe in half, but I still managed to get two layers similar to the original recipe. I also only used 2 ounces of each cheese instead of 4. Seemed like plenty to me. I realized after that I probably should have put the cheddar on top for a better picture.

Six eggs mixed together and poured on top.

I thought that since it was the half recipe, the cook time would also be half. I tried it and it was definitely not done. I waited about 2 and a half NCIS episodes before checking. They were on DVD, so maybe 45 minutes each? Since it was so raw, I turned it back on and waited another two episodes and hoped it would be done. I think it took a total of about 4 hours to completely cook on low.

I scooped some out and went to town. It is missing a little something. Maybe the green onions make a differene that big? I an not sure. I got another small scoop and put some ketchup on. I am not a fan of eggs and ketchup, but it was good with the potatoes. It also gave me an idea of adding garlic and onions to the potatoes. I got 5 really good servings out of half a recipe. I could have made it into 6, but I really wasn’t very concerned about it. It is something I would make again so I could have it for breakfast during the work week. Another winner from Iowa 😉

Leave a Reply

