Chicken Spaghetti…..or something

From the famous kitchen of the Pioneer Woman, I give you Chicken Spaghetti. I have been a fan of Pioneer Woman for a long time. I was so excited when her first cookbook came out. I read through it all and realized that a majority, if not all, of the recipes were on the website. I was so disappointed. I was so mad that I spent the money to buy something that was online for free. It helped now, though, since I have iffy internet access. It has made me a bit gun shy about buying cookbooks from online writers.

I made this once before with spaghetti as the original recipe instructed. This time, though, I used rotini since I had a couple boxes open already. Plus, I used my spaghetti for the Baked Stuffed Pasta recipe 🙂

Ingredients (of course I forgot the cheese) – I used dehydrated peppers and shallots instead of fresh peppers and onions because it was convenient for this recipe. I just put some in a bowl of water and let it rehydrate while the pasta was cooking.  Also, no pimentos.  I don’t know what they really are, but I associate them with olives and I HATE them.  I also ended up using some other rotini in addition to what is pictured – so if you see weird green or other colored chunks in later pictures, that’s why 😀

I tried to take a picture of all the ingredients in the bowl, but it kept coming out freaky

Mix it all up and put it in a casserole dish.

Cover with cheese

And bake

I got 6 servings out of this. It was actually about half the recipe in the link above. I don’t know how big their servings are, but I have a feeling I would be eating it for weeks if I made the full recipe. I suppose it is because it’s for a family who works on a cattle ranch :). I like this recipe. If you have leftover cooked chicken, it really doesn’t take much time at all. The rotini worked just as well as the spaghetti, so I think any short pasta would work just as well. I baked it the same amount of time as the full recipe. My last few experiences with cooking a half a recipe is that it still cooks the same time. It may not be true with all the recipes, but seems to be working out here 🙂

Leave a Reply

