English Muffin Bread

I made this bread recipe twice before. The first time, fantastic. Second time, crappy (my fault). This time, it was good again. I am still trying to use the whole wheat flour, so I threw a cup of that in instead of using all white flour. It seemed like the only difference is that there weren’t as many nooks and crannies that I remember from the first time.  Although, I wonder if I am imagining all the nooks and crannies.  It’s been so long since I first made it

Ingredients

First mixing

Final mixing

In the pan for the rise

Picture where the risen bread was supposed to be (facepalm)

Baked

The addition of the whole wheat flour wasn’t bad at all. The bread tasted good. When I toasted it, the edges were wonderfully crunchy and the inside soft. It didn’t have any bitter flavor like the other whole wheat loaf I made. It is probably because I didn’t use ALL whole wheat flour. I don’t remember where I got the recipe from, but it was good enough to go in my hand written cookbook. Yea, I’m old – lol 😉

English Muffin Bread
Makes 1 loaf

3 cups flour
1 pkg active dry yeast
1.5 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1/8 tsp baking soda
1 cup milk
¼ cup water
Cornmeal

In a mixing bowl, combine 2 cups flour, yeast, sugar, salt, and baking soda. In a sauce pan, heat water and milk to 130 degrees. Add to dry ingredients and beat until smooth. Stir in the remaining flour – batter will be stiff. Grease a loaf pan and sprinkle with cornmeal. Spoon batter into pan. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled – about 45 minutes. Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes until golden brown. Remove from pan to wire rack and let cool.

Leave a Reply

