Three Cheese Crustless Quiche

Breakfast dishes are the one thing that I don’t mind having multiple servings.  Nothing tickles me more than filling up my self-claimed drawer in the work fridge on Monday and not having to worry about breakfast or lunch the rest of the week.  Lunch can get boring, but breakfast?  I can do boring.  It’s just one of those things that I don’t feel like making EVERY day!  I stumbled on the original recipe a while ago, but kind of forgot about it.  Did that ever happen to you?  So many recipes, that you forget some!  Anyway, I only make this with 4 servings, so it will be good through the weekend and I will need something new on Monday.

I added a bunch of cheeses to this, the one sticking out as being a little out of place is the ricotta
Q_Ingredients

Mix the eggs, milk and seasonings.  I also threw in the ricotta to try and make a custard like thing.  I don’t know what I was thinking – lol.  The green stuff in the picture is actually parsley.  Before I bought this stuff, I didn’t realize parsley had a taste.  It gives the egg dishes a slightly sweeter taste.  It’s hard to explain because it kind of smells like pancakes or something sweet.

Q_Egg

Layer the meat you are using and the cheese.  The original recipe also said to layer your veggies here, too………yea.  I’m good.  I suppose spinach and peppers might be good?  I am not a fan of veggies in my eggs.

Q_Firstlayer

I forgot to take a picture when I used the colby jack.  I broke up the slices and laid them on top of the mozzarella and ham.  I wanted to give contrasting cheeses.  I also like the idea that there would be little pockets of colby cheese.  Notice the ricotta all in the middle?  Yea, I should have just plopped some dollops on top of the ham before the colby.  I think it would have turned out much better

Q_ReadyToBake

All baked.  Not too bad, right?  Well, I didn’t eat any when I made it.  I left it to cool knowing that I was going to have it for breakfast at work.  It actually fell quite a bit.  I cut it into 4 wedges for serving.  I did notice that it was really wet – probably because of the ricotta.  I think I need to cut down the milk amount when I use ricotta.  I thought it would be ok since I was reheating it the next day
Q_Baked

Plated at work.  Doesn’t eating off paper plates with plastic forks make you feel like a kid…..or convict?  I usually don’t but this was still wet after I reheated and not in a good way.  If you are sensitive to really wet things, then this recipe definitely needs tweaking.  I got past it just by shoving it in 🙂  It wasn’t bad, just some spots were not the consistency that I was expecting and that made it ooky.Q_served

The sad part?  The only reason I was using ricotta was to use it up.  I have the worst time with leftover ricotta.  I think it would be better without the ricotta.  Just meat and cheese please!!  To make it healthier, you could replace some of the whole eggs with just egg whites.

Three Cheese Crustless Quiche

5 eggs
2/3 c milk (probably less if using ricotta cheese)
Ham or other meat
– I used 130 grams ham
Cheese of preference
– I used 1/2 c ricotta, 1/4 c shredded mozzarella, 2 slices thin colby jack
Veggies if desired

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Oil or butter a pie pan then chop veggies and meats into small pieces. Mix the eggs, milk and herbs and spices. Add the chopped veggies/meat/cheese to the bottom of the pan then gently pour the egg mixture over top. Sprinkle top with extra herbs and spices if you wish. Cook for 30 to 50 minutes/until set and lightly browned on top. If you notice the top browning to early cover with some foil.

Leave a Reply

