My first pumpkin item of the season!!

Stupid bagels.  I was trying to make another batch of them using a different recipe than the flat ones from earlier, but it went horribly wrong.  It was horrible.  The dough was the stickiest I had ever dealt with and the recipe had no indication on how to deal with it.  I got as far as shaping the bagels.  No matter what I did, the dough stuck to everything.  I got so annoyed, I trashed the whole thing.

Later, I was still feeling like making something, so I dug up the recipe I saved for Pumpkin Scones.

Ingredients.  I threw in some white chocolate chips that I had in the pantry for a while.  I also didn’t use half and half because I don’t ever have it on hand.  I hate to buy it just for 3 tbsp.  I used Pumpkin Pie spice since that is what I had.  I also didn’t have enough flour for the whole recipe, so I substituted half whole wheat flour.
PS_Ingredients

Pumpkin part
PS_Pumpkin_Mixed

Dry ingredients with butter
PS_Flour_Butter

After incorporating the butter.  It doesn’t look much different, but trust me, it took some effort to get it this way.  I tried a pastry cutter, that worked when the butter was big chunks, but it just started clumping.  I tried a fork, that didn’t do anything.  I ended up just using my fingers for it.
PS_Butter_Mixed

I mixed it all up and formed it into a disc.  I tried to cut them evenly, but I think we all know my problems with that.  Plus, it stuck.  Of course.  I used a pizza butter as suggested, but I think the knife would be better.  I had some issues with dragging – even when I floured the cutter.
PS_Shaped

Cut up.  I ended up having some odd shaped scones.  You would think I would be able to cut things into the proper sizes by now.
PS_Cut

Baked
PS_Baked

Glazed

The glaze didn’t work out so well, which was weird since this is the glaze I use for everything.  The sugar didn’t seem to want to dissolve in the milk.  You can see the chunks, there.
PS_Glazed

I liked the scones – the texture was great.  It didn’t seem like the whole wheat substitution had much affect on that.  The taste – not as pumpkiny as I was expecting.  Maybe the flour?  Maybe I need to add more pumpkin with the whole wheat?  Maybe cause my spices were too old?  I do need to throw them out.  I want to check my recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip bread and see what it uses.  I would love a pumpkin chocolate chip scone.  They were my first attempt at scones and I think I did a pretty damn good job – even though I can’t slice right 🙂  I think I may just have to accept the fact that I will always have to have 8 or 4.  I just can’t get the hang of 6.  I will attempt these again with more chocolate chips and maybe all white flour to see if that helps with the pumpkin flavor.

(PS – I ate two of these yesterday  😳 )

Leave a Reply

