Shrimp fail :(

I was in the mood for something different, so when I ran across this recipe, I decided to make it.  The link is to the original recipe.  The only difference is that the original uses 1/4 cup breadcrumbs and the one I found used 1/2 cup.  I don’t think the original would have been much different.  The only ingredients I had to buy were shrimp and wine.  I am one of those rare people that don’t keep wine on hand.  I was thinking of making Shrimp Scampi, instead, but I needed more ingredients.

Ingredients – yes, I had some wine first :).  The pack there is large shrimp in the shell.  I had to clean them before using.  I didn’t want to show you a picture of that – ew.
GBS_Ingredients

Ready to bake.  I had a picture of the shrimp laid out in the pan, but it didn’t look very appetizing.  Anything covered in butter bread crumbs look better 🙂
GBS_ReadyToBake

Done
GBS_Done

I served it with Garlic and Herb rice pilaf from Near East (I always call them Far East for some reason 😐 ).  I LOVE their boxed grain mixes.  I have had regular rice, pilaf and couscous.  I have never been disappointed with it.  I didn’t add any butter or oil to this and it was still good.  I know it is really good with the butter, too, but I was trying to save some calories since the shrimp had 4 tbsp of butter already.
GBS_Pilaf

Dinner plated ( I wasn’t sure which I liked better.  The second one is a little light, but I like the point of view.  The first has my funky finger in it – lol )
GBS_Dinner2 GBS_Dinner

I was really disappointed with this dish.  The recipe originally said to cook the shrimp for 15-18 minutes.  I have never heard of shrimp being cooked that long.  I cut it down to 10, but laziness turned it to about 12 minutes and my shrimp were overcooked.  I shudder to think what would have happened if I left them in for 15 minutes.  As it is now, I can’t reheat them or risk having shrimp that resemble rubber bands.  There really wasn’t much flavor to it despite the amount of garlic in it.  I think my only option is to heat up the rice and hope that when I mix in the shrimp, it will warm them.  I really wish I would have made the shrimp scampi instead.  Next time – go with my first instincts!!

Edit to add – I had this again the next day at work for lunch.  I did what I said and mixed the shrimp (cut up) into the rice to heat it without overcooking even more.  It turned out better than I thought.  Maybe even better than the first day.  I think it’s because it was mixed in with the rice which has a LOT of flavor to it.

Leave a Reply

