Bittersweet day

Today is my last day of work (at my real job 😉 ) before the New Year.  While I am looking forward to going back to my roots and seeing family and friends, it’s a bittersweet day.  My boss of two years – one of the best I have ever had – is leaving at the end of the year.  She shared this news with us last Friday and I have pretty much been in a funk since then.  It’s not any easier today.  She was always there for us, we knew that she always would stick up for us.  We would work late so that we could alleviate her stress some and have something good to tell in meetings about accomplishments.  We met every week as a team and it was like hanging out.  Not that she wasn’t boss-like, too, but her door was always open to us if we had problems at work or home.  Go from that to her boss who isn’t going to meet with us, but we have to “stop by” his office.  I am really anxious and worried about how this is going to work.  I even heard through the grapevine that he isn’t planning on getting anyone to replace her for a while.  Basically, two departments don’t have managers anymore.  I was going to be optimistic and give it until March before I start looking for something else, but I have a feeling it’ll be sooner.  I don’t think he realized how involved she was and I have a bad feeling we’re gonna drown.  I do wish her the best, though.  She saved me from a horrible job with a boss that was constantly trying to make it look like she was the one who was doing all the things I did.  I can’t wait to see where she is going and what she is actually doing.

Sorry for the downer, but I had to get it out.  Maybe now I will be able to sleep 🙂  I hope to be able to update with some food from home for all of you.  Nothing like some mom-cooked food.

Hope you all have a happy holiday whatever it is you celebrate 😀

Leave a Reply

