The day of almost

On New Year’s Day, the tradition in my family is to eat pork.  Usually pork and sauerkraut, but I was never a fan.  I had a couple boneless pork chops to thaw, so I decided to do some fried pork chops.  I found a recipe for Pork Schnitzel  that was similar to the breading I follow for regular fried chicken.  I found it in the Taste of Home cookbook.

Ingredients – I only have 4 pork chops instead of 6, but I still mixed the full recipe for the breading
PS_Ingredients

Breading!  Here’s where the almost starts.  I almost had enough bread crumbs and paprika
PS_Flour PS_EggsPS_Breading

I only used 4 tbsps of oil to fry
PS_Fried

Done!  Don’t they look delicious?
PS_Done

A side of macaroni and cheese.  I used the recipe from here.  I almost had enough pasta.  I left out the broccoli and ham.  I almost enough pasta for it.  It was a little saucy, but gooooood.  I used colby jack for the cheese sauce.
PS_Side

Here’s my dinner plated
PS_Plated

It was really good, but the extra seasonings didn’t really add too much to the final flavor of the chop.  I did trim off all of the fat before breading though.  I was glad I did, because it kind of…….cooked out (I was thinking of a much less appetizing word – lol).  I think the mac and cheese recipe will be my go to one.  I just need to get enough pasta to accommodate the sauce made.

Leave a Reply

