Breakfast score from the Amish

I saw this recipe for Amish Breakfast Casserole on foodgawker.com (is anyone else obsessed with looking at pictures of food??). It seemed so simple and tasty. I was a little nervous about the cottage cheese, but I decided to go for it anyways. It did come with it’s own set of problems, though.

Ingredients – see the cheese?
ABC_Ingredients

I shredded the chunks and put the shredded on the same plate to measure. It barely made 9 ounces. I need 16 for the recipe (facepalm). I grossly underestimated the about of cheese I needed.
ABC_Cheese

I decided to forge ahead and cooked the onions, sausage and bacon
ABC_OSB

Stored all the ingredients in the fridge until the next day when I could get some more cheese. The only problem? What kind should I get??  I decided to half the remaining amount between 2% mozzarella and 2% cheddar – at this point, I realized that I should have probably made only half a recipe 😐  I was originally going to make it 8 servings total, but it was over 400 calories each piece and that’s with low fat stuff thrown in! 😮  I don’t think I even want to know with all full fat.  I decided to make it into 16 servings – yep, over two weeks of breakfast.  That way, I could serve it with fruit and milk and still have a breakfast just over 300 calories.  I always seem to forget that amish recipes are all full fat and hefty on calories because they do that thing called manual labor all day.  Yea, not so much here – lol.

Fast forward to the day of cooking.  I mixed it all together and put it in two cake pans and topped it with sausage, bacon and the non-low fat cheese.  I had a picture if it mixed together, but it just didn’t look good at all.  I mean, the picture was fine, but the content wasn’t.
ABC_SingleReadyToBake ABC_ReadyToBake

All baked – you would not believe how good this smelled
ABC_SingleBaked ABC_BothBaked

I had a quarter of one of the pies and it was soo good.  I don’t think it will be a problem eating all this, but I still put one pan in the freezer (pieces wrapped in foil in a freezer bag).  I don’t know what it was – maybe the garlic, but I really enjoyed this.  I cooked it for about 40 minutes and wanted more.  It kept me full for about 4 hours.  This is definitely something I will make again.  Decadant, rich and a small tanginess from the cottage cheese.  I only added a few drops of hot sauce since it is REALLY hot, but I still got some hint of spicy while eating.  I completely recommend this – maybe only half for just one or two people, though 😀

Leave a Reply

