Orange Beef – FINALLY!

I finally made the orange beef from forever ago.  I admit that I actually started it on Sunday and finished it last night.  There are a lot of ingredients for this, but that is the trend for all the recipes in the cookbook.  It still isn’t hard to make.

Ingredients – I know, I know, I need to buy regular sherry instead of the crappy cooking sherry, but I cannot find it for the life of me.  I didn’t think to check a wine store until after I already bought the crappy stuff – a decision I regretted later.
OB_Ingredients1

Marinade – Just cause it looks cool.  The orange is from the bean sauce – weird, right?
OB_Marinade

Ingredients for the cooking.  There was supposed to be only 8 pieces of the orange peel, but I kind of destroyed one peel.  Apparently, I need some sort of orange peeling class.  Only problem – I have no idea what to do with the oranges themselves!  I might have to make some cookies or something.
OB_Ingredients2

Ingredients for the sauce
OB_Ingredients3

I didn’t take any pictures of the sauce or the cooking ingredients combined because it just looked….brown.  Anything with dark soy sauce tends to only be brown.

Beef cooked – at this point, the recipe said to remove all but 3 tbsp of oil from the wok.  Seriously?  I never understood how people did that.  It’s boiling hot oil and you want me to try and measure some out?  I don’t think so!  I just dumped out enough that I thought it looked right and said “Good enough!!”
OB_CookedBeef

Frying orange peel.  Yep –  frying.
OB_FryingOrangePeel

Beef and orange peel – see the liquid in the middle?  I wasn’t sure how much of that was oil and how much was goodness.  I was going to take it out but then, I actually tasted it and it was beefy – so I left it alone.
OB_BeefCooking

Done!
OB_Done

Plated
OB_Plated

It was good, but not as mind blowing as I thought.  I blame most of it on the sherry,  The other thing was the meat.  It was kind of tough and stringy.  As much as it cost, I expected it to be great.  I even marinated it for about 3 days and it still wasn’t as good.  I made notes to try a different cut of beef and to replace the sherry with broth.  I was also thinking of trying it with chicken.  Definitely not with marinating for 3 days, though, You wouldn’t want it to turn to mush.  I wonder if I could just make the sauce and pour it over grilled chicken.

Leave a Reply

