Waffles, round two

Another recipe that didn’t turn out so well.  If you only had these two recipes to go off of with my cooking skill, I wouldn’t even want to eat at my house!!  I found a simple recipe in Joy of Cooking for waffles and thought “OOOOOOO!”  I had all the ingredients, so, I had to make it, right?

Ingredients – the recipe called for the flour to be sifted BEFORE measuring.  What I did was put the measuring cup I needed on a piece of parchment paper and start sifting over it.  Then, I moved the cup, folded the parchment paper in half and poured the other sifted flour into the cup.  It’s best to do this either over another piece of parchment paper or a cutting board.  If it overflows, then you can still use the extra flour to measure the rest.
W_Ingredients

I mixed it all up and put it in a pitcher for easier pouring.  I actually used an old brita pitcher and I am quite glad I did.  It worked perfectly.
W_Pitcher

I had such a hard time with these things sticking – no matter what I did.  The first one I made, I threw some chocolate chips.  Yea – that stuck like a punk.  I ate it while I was making the others.  I apparently have issues with filling up waffle irons, but not one cooked correctly (and there was another one that stuck badly).  The last one actually overflowed and it still wasn’t a full waffle.
W_Bounty

Sad, huh?  I think I might be done with waffles, too.  None of them were crispy – see how they hang off the side of the cooling rack up there?  None of them cook evenly no matter how long I leave them in the iron.  I am still going to eat them.  I should be able to crisp them up by reheating in the toaster oven instead of the microwave.  One or two are going to be turned into sandwiches.  I just have to accept the fact that I have a waffle disability…….maybe I should just buy a griddle and switch to pancakes.

Leave a Reply

