Not as crunchy as intended

I like granola.  Well, I like certain granola.  I am a bit picky, but they are so expensive – especially with my tastes (Can we say Kashi chocolate granola?).  I ran across this recipe,but I have no idea where.  I like granola.  I like oatmeal cookies.  I figured it was a good fit.

Ingredients:  See that honey?  Yea, not enough honey by thaaaat much.  I wasn’t quire sure what else to add to it.  I really didn’t want to add syrup or the barely malt syrup in my fridge.
G_Ingredients

I forgot to show this one.  I may have used more than the recipe calls for, but, hey, who doesn’t like cinnamon.  I was just too lazy to try and find my tsp, so I just guesstimated with a 1/2 tbsp.
G_Forgot

All the dry mixed up.  When you make this recipe, don’t do this.  I just wrote down the ingredients when I went to the kitchen instead of all of the directions.  Mistake.  I put the raisins and chocolate before the first bake instead of after.
G_Mixed

Close-up cause it looks cool
G_CloseUp

I tried to make the just not quite enough honey and mixed the crap out of it when I poured it on.  I was determined to get every piece covered.  By the way – use a bowl bigger than a cereal bowl to mix up the peanut butter and honey……trust me.

All laid out to be baked
G_ReadyToBake

Baked.
G_Baked

See, this is when you were supposed to put in the chocolate and raisins then bake again.  I just took it out and put it to cool while I worked on some other things.  I didn’t realize that I got it wrong until I sat down to write this post.  I didn’t want to put it back in for fear that it would burn the chocolate.  I took a taste while I was breaking it up and it was pretty good.

See this?  This is what I originally wrote about my first impression of the granola
“The honey I used is very strong and makes me kind of wonder if I could use something else in it’s place.  Honey and I have an odd relationship.  It’s not that I hate it, it’s just that I prefer it sometimes and others, I don’t.  I definitely want to try this again with corn syrup or agave nectar or something. “

Fast forward to when I was putting it away for the final picture.  I couldn’t stop eating it.  I started wondering what cocoa roasted almonds would taste like in it or cinnamon toasted almonds.  I think I will keep it the way it is – definitely use honey.  It wasn’t as crunchy as standard granola, but I am guessing that is because of the missed second baking.  I cannot WAIT to make this again.  Oh, yea, and actually make it the correct way next time 😀

Leave a Reply

