Remaking a recipe

I have this old recipe that I remember making in Home Ec in middle school.  I thought it was all professional and grownup – I don’t think my partner liked it though – lol.  It is a simple chicken filling that is wrapped in crescent roll dough.  I had some puff pastry left over and thought I would remake the recipe to be a little more adult and better tasting.

Ingredients
CC_Ingredients

Filling mixed.  I didn’t have a clean tablespoon measure, so I just splashed some milk in and as you can see, it was a little too much
CC_Filling

Making the packets – I tried so hard to get them all to look as good as the first one and all closed up.  It didn’t happen, so I just posted this picture 🙂
CC_MakingThePackets

The original recipe used crushed croutons on the buttered top, but I never liked it.  Since the cooked chicken I used had a shallot pepper seasoning on them, I figured I would throw some dried shallots on top.  I was really excited at this point.
CC_Buttered_Ready_To_Bake

Then this happened.  I put it under the broiler to get some color on it and BAM!  Burnt
CC_SIGH

I ate the sad one in the far left corner.  I still am going to eat the rest because – well – I need the food – lol.

Some thoughts – obviously, less time under the broiler.  I think the butter on top of the puff pastry was a little much.  You can also see that every single one opened up to some degree.  I would love to figure out a way to keep them closed.  If not, then put the pastry in a ramekin and ladle in the filling.  The filling itself turned out great.  I added some garlic powder to the filling and the chicken with the shallot pepper just added a level of tastiness to the filling that I don’t remember it having before.  I would leave off the butter on the top of the pastry, definitely.

I will be trying to tweak this recipe again to see if I can just really bring it to the next level.  Here is the basic recipe I used.  I don’t have any measurements in the seasonings because I didn’t measure anything and was just tasting as I mixed the filling.  The recipe below includes the butter for the top of the puff pastry, but I marked it as optional.

Puff Pastry Chicken Squares

3 oz cream cheese, softened
2 tbsp melted butter
2 cup cooked, cubed seasoned chicken
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
Garlic powder to taste
Dried Parsley to taste
2 tbsp milk
1 tbsp chopped onion
1 sheet puff pastry
1 tbsp melted butter (optional)
Dried Shallots

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Blend cheese and butter until smooth.  Add next six ingredients and mix.  Roll out the dough and cut into 4 squares.  Spoon ½ cup of the chicken mixture into center of the square.  Pull 4 corners to top center of filling.  Twist slightly and seal the edges.  Brush tops with butter (optional) and top with Dried Shallots.  Bake on cookie sheet with parchment paper until browned.

Leave a Reply

