Unexpected cake

Another recipe from the mix cookbook.  This one is not convincing me about this cookbook.  It’s moving closer to the Goodwill pile.  It was ok, but not what I was expecting.  I didn’t read it close enough and when I saw quick bread, I was expecting a regular loaf of bread.  This was more like coffee cake which used a different mix in the cookbook.  It was kind of like a big sugar cookie.

Ingredients for dry mix (still made half the recipe)
QB_Ingredients

Ok – here is the ingredients all mixed sitting next to my sifter – a normal size sifter.  The full recipe makes like 15 cups.  how exactly does the author expect a normal person to sift through all that??
QB_Mixed

The other problem is this.  This is what happens when you try to sift PACKED brown sugar
QB_BrownSugar

I only sifted half of it, then used my hands to mix it all up and break up the brown sugar.
QB_HalfSifted

Add eggs and oil to 3.5 cups of the mix and get this
QB_Mixed-001

The author says to pour the batter into a pan……really???  Pour??  I checked about 5 times to make sure I added the right liquid amount.  I don’t see how this could ever be poured.

I pushed it in the pan and baked for a little less than an hour.
QB_Poured

It still seemed over done.  At least it rose a little bit.  It was still thin.
QB_Baked QB_Height

Slicing was a little iffy, but that might have been because it was still warm.  I left one slice alone and buttered one.  I let it cool and wrapped it in foil.  Next day?  Hard as a rock.  And can I just comment that 4 cups is NOT an appropriate serving amount for a slicable object??  Let me just crumble it up and put it in a cup 😐
QB_Plated

I still have a bunch of the dry mix left.  I guess I can try making some of the other variations.  I could throw in some raisins and cinnamon.  I really want to make it more like a batter.  Maybe add some milk to it and mix it all up.  I don’t know what it will do, but I want more of a cake texture.  I am not saying that this is bad, but who needs this much sweet bread mix?  Why no regular bread mix?  I really want to look up the brand that is referenced in the book to show the savings difference.

I still want to try the pancake and biscuit mix.  Silly, right?  I don’t know why, I just really want this cookbook to redeem itself.  I don’t know if it will be enough to keep it on the shelf, though.

Leave a Reply

