Brinner Part 1

I love sausage.  (don’t make it dirty 😛 ) I try to be healthy and get turkey sausage, but it’s so expensive.  I am always nervous about trying recipes online because I don’t know what seasonings in the pork sausage I love so much.  I saw this one and it was pretty reasonable, so I figured I would give it a try

Ingredients.  I didn’t add maple syrup becasue I never buy maple sausage.  I left out the nutmeg because I have never been a fan of that.  And I just forgot about the cloves.  I don’t know if it is a seasoning I like or not, but it just makes me think of the cigarettes that I smoked in college…not too appealing
S_Ingredients

Patties made.  Yep – they changed color.  Not to worry, though, it’s just the sage.
S_Patties

Cooking
S_Cooking

Finished
S_Done

I was surprised that it really didn’t have much of a taste.  It was a little dry, but that was my fault for cooking them a little too long.  I didn’t let the skillet heat up enough to get a good sear.  I was really surprised at the lack of taste to them considering how many seasonings are used.  I only left out two – did they really make such a difference?  I ate them with pancakes so I was able to drown it in syrup to eat it.  I am not sure what to do with the rest of them.  I still have some pancakes left that I can eat them with, but that will probably leave me with about 4 patties to do something with.  Maybe an egg muffin sandwich?

If I can find the seasonings in Jimmy Dean sausage, I would never have to buy it again!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

