Brinner Part 2

Pancakes, like waffles, seem to be an endless struggle for me unless I make them with bisquick.  I was going to use the dry mix cookbook and make it from there, but the more I looked at the leftover mix from the “bread”, the more I didn’t want to take the chance.  I looked in the King Arthur cookbook and found a recipe – figured why not.  Thankfully, I only made a half a recipe.  The original made 16 pancakes.

Ingredients.  I used Cinnamon Sugar instead of just plain sugar.
P_Ingredients

The recipe said to take the liquid ingredients and beat until foamy.  I never thought that I would be able to get it foamy.
P_BeatTillFoamy

Batter mixed
P_AllMixed

See the batter?  The recipe said that it would thicken while sitting or overnight.  I don’t know how long they wanted you to let it to sit, but it never thickened.  Maybe I was supposed to put it in the fridge while waiting?

Cooking.  It was soooo thin, I couldn’t believe it.
P_Cooking

I used the last of the batter to make a really big pancake for brinner.
P_Mondo P_Plated

It was such a weird pancake.  It was thin, but meaty?  No, that’s not the right word.   Toothsome?  Is that a real word?  Firefox isn’t saying it’s bad 😉  It tasted like it should be a fluffy pancake, but it was thin.  It wasn’t easy to cut with a fork.  It wasn’t a bad flavor, but it just wasn’t a really good texture.  Maybe kind of like the Picnic Wraps I made, but squishier.  I also don’t like the fact that they tell you what temperature an electric griddle should be, but no clue as to what to set the stove burner to.  I don’t think I will try this particular recipe again.  Now, the pancake recipe search begins…..

Leave a Reply

