Snow with a side of Chicken and Rice

This weekend, something weird happened here in North Cackalacky.
CR_Snow

I planned on making Chicken and Rice casserole that I found here then, but the chicken from the freezer didn’t thaw – lol.  Nothing better than a nice warm casserole on a cold day.  Too bad the snow was melted by the next day (facepalm).  I ended up making it a few nights later

Ingredients for the soup part
CR_Ingredients

Ingredients for the rest of the casserole
CR_Ingredients2

I didn’t have a 9in pan so, I replaced it with this.  I figured if it was a 9×9 pan and this one was an 8×10, it was only 1 inch off.
CR_Pan

The soup cooked.  I am such a fan of cream of chicken that I drink it without actually using it to cook.  This version of the soup isn’t something that I would eat alone, but I thought it would be good in a casserole.
CR_CookingDSoup

Mix it with the rinsed rice and the seasoning and you get…….something that looks exactly the same (facepalm)
CR_Mixed

Ready to bake.  Yea, this really didn’t look like the picture from the website.  I was hoping it was because of the size of the pan and it would all turn out ok.
CR_ReadyToBake

This is what happened when it was done.  Soup skin.  So appetizing, right?
CR_Baked

Next steps were to shred the chicken.  I had some issues with the shredding and mixing it, but this is what it looked like after.  A little closer to the picture on the website, but still a lot more wet.  Kind of savory rice pudding with chicken.
CR_Shredded_Done

Close up (just because it’s cool 😉 )
CR_Closeup

It wasn’t a bad recipe, just a lot more soupie than I expected.  The picture on the recipe looked drier….in a good way – lol – I promise!  I, again, made the whole recipe and have 8 total servings of it to fit into my eating plan.  The good thing is that it is low calorie, the bad thing is that when reheating, it was really gluey.  I also added WAY too much pepper, but that’s my fault.  Maybe I didn’t cook the soup long enough?  Not sure.  I honestly don’t know if I will try it again, but definitely not if it gets warm.  Winter is almost over down here 🙂

Leave a Reply

