Happy Union – Finally

I had such high hopes for this recipe.  It’s called Happy Union from this cookbook (If you are logged into amazon, click Look Inside and do a search for the recipe).  I had been planning on making this more than once.  This time, I was going to cook everything on the grill and then follow the recipe from there.  Instead, I mostly followed the recipe except for the amount of oil, the chicken marinade and the vegetable used 😀 – you know, just a little.  I didn’t marinate the chicken because it was supposed to be grilled.  I still poached both the asparagus and chicken according to the original recipe.  With the shrimp, garlic and ginger, I only used 1 tbsp of oil.  With a non-stick wok, I didn’t think it was necessary to use a total of 4.  I also got about 6 servings of the recipe instead of the assumed 4.

Ingredients (minus the raw chicken because I decided ew)
HU_Ingredients

Sauce made up
HU_Sauce

All the meat and vegetables cooked
HU_AllCooked

All the kids in the pool.  The sauce was added and about to boil
HU_AllIn

Done!  See the thick sauce achieved by adding some cornstarch and water?
HU_Done

Dinner!
HU_Dinner

OMG – this was so good and so simple.  It took a little time because I wasn’t prepared, but it is definitely a sauce I could see tossing with some leftover meat/protein and large veggies.  I don’t think something like corn or peas would work in this.  But leftover broccoli, cauliflower, etc?  Oh yea.  It was a good salty, a little tang of pepper, but not enough garlic…..cause, I’m a garlic freak.  Definitely make this.

Leave a Reply

