Sweet Potato Fries at home

There’s a local deli that serves the best sweet potato fries – EVER!  I am not familiar with that particular tuber, so I never attempted it at home.  Then, I saw the picture in this post and I just had to try it.  I bought my first sweet potato and away we go.

Ingredients – missing the olive oil of course.
SPF_Ingredients

All chopped up.  Now, the hard part – waiting for a half hour.
SPF_Soak

Coated them with corn starch.  I wasn’t sure if I should dry the potatoes or not, first, so I did.
SPF_Coated

After turning.  They seem to be missing the brownish niceness.  Not sure what happened.  I actually ended up leaving them in for 10 instead of the 5 the recipe said.  I topped them with some kosher salt to try and replicate the deli fries as close as possible.
SPF_AfterFirstTurn

I paired it with some frozen shrimp and clams.  Yea, I know the clams were a gamble, but for some reason, they really sounded good (hangover).  I used some homemade sweet chili sauce for dipping the shrimp (coming in another post).  Ah – so satisfying.  They aren’t in the picture because I got hungry 😐

I ended up leaving them in for three times as long and they still didn’t really brown.
SPF_Plated

Unfortunately, that’s the only thing that was good.  The cornstarch was just bad.  It stuck in my teeth and overwhelmed the fries.  I didn’t even finish them and I eat burnt fries.  I don’t think this experience will stop me from trying them again, but I think I am just going to go the regular route of tossing them just in olive oil.

Leave a Reply

