Hearty Pasta Dish….In Summer….In The South

I forget where I came across this recipe.  Being the smartest person ever, I decided to make a hearty pasta dish in the middle of summer in the south 😐  One thing before I start, you must love peppers to enjoy this dish

Ingredients
IDN_Ingredients

Cooking the sausage
IDN_Sausage

Cooking the onions
IDN_Onions

Have I ever shown you the easiest way to cut up a bell pepper?  I never use any other method now.  Instead of cutting off the top, cut vertically, like this
IDN_CutPepper1

Continue around the pepper and you end up with slices like these.  No cleaning needed!
IDN_CutPepper2

Another tip?  Cut with the skin side down.  That way, if the skin is a little tough, you won’t smush the pepper flesh.  Enough about the peppers…..well almost.  Peppers in the pot!
IDN_AddPepper

All ingredients in
IDN_AllIn

Everything mixed up with the pasta
IDN_AllMixed

Plated
IDN_Plated

Don’t forget to pour yourself a glass of wine when the recipe tells you to add it.
IDN_Wine

I was kind of wary about it, but I liked the dish.  I think the only thing I would change would be the peppers.  I think they need to be in a smaller size.  I would just cut them in half again to make them shorter.  The sauce is great.  I might try and use dried herbs.  I might use half hot sausage to give it a bit of a kick.  Other than that, wouldn’t change a thing 🙂  I got 5 REALLY big servings out of it – even though the recipe says it makes four.  I don’t know if you could substitute the pasta, but it is hard to find.  I was able to find it at Earth Fare, but whoooo – it was expensive.  Maybe I will just try and make it from scratch next time.

Leave a Reply

