Almost as good as Stouffer’s

When I was growing up, my mom used to make the Stouffer’s vegetable lasagna (Family Size) every once in a while for an easy meal.  For a long time, I HATED it.  All those vegetables messing up the crunchy sides and creamy sauce – blech.  As I got older, I started to like it more and more.  Now, it’s one of my favorite frozen meal indulgences.  I don’t remember where I came across this one, but when I decided to explore vegetarian dishes, I knew I had to try it.

I did change some things, though.  I don’t like zucchini very much reheated, so I add more broccoli, carrots and included onions.  I only used about half the mozzarella cheese – it seemed plenty to me.  I didn’t add any extra parmesan either (see below).  I also didn’t use jarred Alfredo Sauce.  I looked for a simple recipe that didn’t make too much for a single person.  Some of the recipes used a quart of half and half!!  I didn’t need that much.  I did a little dance when I found this one that only used 1 cup.  I messed up on the parmesan cheese and ended up using 1.5 cups.  WAY too much…..for the sauce on pasta.  It ended up being perfect for this recipe.  It was a little thick, so I tried heating it up and ended up adding a little water.  Broth would probably work good, too, but I didn’t have any vegetable broth.

On to the pictures (you’re gonna like this!)

Ingredients
WVL_Ingredients

Cooking the veggies
WVL_CookingVeggies

Mixing with the sauce
WVL_Mixed

First layer
WVL_Layer3

Second layer
WVL_AlmostReady

CHEEEEESE!
WVL_ToppedCheese

All baked
WVL_Done

My plate
WVL_Plated

 

These are SO good.  I am going to add them to my cookbooks.  A few things: I did not need to spray the muffin pan with non-stick spray.  My pan is non-stick, so I figured I didn’t need it.  Also, since I made my alfredo sauce, it had a bit more fat in it than the light stuff at the grocery store.  I don’t know if that made a difference or not.  They didn’t stick when I took them out, but they did try to separate.  I just made sure not to grab the top wonton and put the fork/spoon all the way to the bottom of the cup.  I want to try this again and again.  I really liked the combination of vegetables that I chose, too.  I can’t wait to have these tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

