Not Your Normal Mac and Cheese

Always on the look out for some new way to pair cheese with some kind of pasta, I was excited to make Gnocchi Mac and Cheese.  I was nervous about the cheeses included.  They are cheeses (besides parm) that I have never had before.  I don’t like strong cheeses, really, but the picture looked sooooo good!

Ingredients.  I didn’t have milk, so I used half and half (who doesn’t have milk?!?)
GMC_Ingredients

Gnocchi prepared for the saucing
GMC_ReadyForSauce

Sauce ready.  The recipe says medium heat, but that was way too hot for my pans.  I should have gone medium low.  See those black marks?  That’s the garlic.  A moment of silence for the poor garlic.  I also forgot to add the salt and pepper.  I don’t think the salt was missed, but the pepper might have been a nice touch.
GMC_SauceDone

First layer on the gnocchi
GMC_FirstSauce

I didn’t add a whole 1/3 cup of parm like the original recipe.  I think it would have been way too much with all the other strong cheese in the dish
GMC_SecondLayer

All baked up
GMC_Baked

….it doesn’t look like the picture I saw.  This may be because I added too much cheese.  Possibly because of the half and half?  I don’t know, but it was really oily.  Did I eat it still?  You betcha!

GMC_Plated

Another view
GMC_FinalPLate

I ate it with the Spicy Chicken from the last post.  It was REALLY rich, but good.  I think I will have to be more careful about the cheese next time.  I will probably also pair one of the stronger cheeses with mozzarella or another mild cheese.  I will tell you, if you don’t have a place that will cut the cheese (HA!) into smaller chunks, this recipe WILL be pricey.  I don’t know if it is worth it.  It is good, I will give you that, but what do I do with the rest of the expensive cheeses I bought?  It is a really good idea, though.  And I want to make it again, just in a more affordable way.

Leave a Reply

