Chicken Parmish Type Casserole

I REALLY wanted to like this recipe.  I love Chicken Parmesan and this seemed like an easy way to get the same taste  with less calories.  There are 3 different recipes that are pinned to my board on Pinterest, but they are all basically the same.  This is the one I followed the closest.

Ingredients
CPC_Ingredients

Cut up the chicken into pieces and put in the bottom of the casserole.  Top with sauce.
CPC_Sauce

Top THAT with mozzarella cheese
CPC_Cheese

I took the croutons, added some parm cheese and garlic and crushed them up
CPC_Croutons

Topped the casserole with them
CPC_Crust

Baked for 35 minutes at 350ish
CPC_Baked

It looks good, right?  It was surprisingly bland.  It was definitely missing something.  I had an inkling to put pasta in the bottom of the dish, but I didn’t.  Bad move.  It was really watery .  That would have been absorbed by the pasta if it was cooked to just under al dente.  Even the topping ended up getting wet after I took it out of the oven.  No one likes wet croutons unless they are freshly dressed on a salad

This was really disappointing.  It definitely didn’t have enough seasoning.  Even the Italian Seasoning that I added wasn’t included in any of the original recipes didn’t help.  I don’t think I will be making this again.  If I do, there’s gonna be a lot more seasoning added directly to the sauce before topping the chicken AND there will be pasta on the bottom.

Leave a Reply

