Spicy Shrimp Salad

I knew it was going to be a late night and I wanted something simple I could pick up from the grocery store and throw together at home.  I used the spicy mixture from here and grilled the shrimp on the same grill pan I always use.
SSS_Shrimp

I put some spinach, romaine lettuce, peppers, onions, carrots, celery and cucumbers in a bowl.  And made some for lunch at the same time.  See, this is why I don’t believe the people that “just don’t have time” to make lunch.  It doesn’t take much more time than making just one (admittedly, I did add some more spinach to the one for tomorrow)
SSS_TwoForOne

I hope you all don’t need an actual recipe for salads, but I know that I need some ideas at times to keep it interesting.  First, I added some slivered almonds
SSS_Almond

Then some Chow Mein noodles
SSS_ChowMein

And topped it with Sweet Balsamic dressing
SSS_Done

I was trying to go for an Asian feel, but I could find a dressing that sounded good to me.  I really wanted something like the Oriental Chicken Salad at Applebee’s but without all the crap they put in it 🙂  I liked this combo, but I added a bit too much dressing.  It was almost too sweet and the shrimp wasn’t as hot as the chicken was when I first made it.  It was still really good, though

Tomorrow, lunch is going to be the same thing, but instead of the Asian theme, I am going with the good old bacon bits, croutons and ranch topping……can I eat lunch now?

Leave a Reply

