Queso Pasta Bake

Queso Pasta Bake really means cheese sauce and more cheese on top!  This is basically a beefed up mac and cheese recipe – literally – it has beef in it 🙂  I am a sucker for pasta dishes.

Ingredients.  It looks like a lot, but it really is an easy dish to make
QPB_Ingredients

Beef and tomatoes all cooked up and ready to be mixed
QPB_BeefCooking

Cheese Sauce (I was gonna show you the pasta next, but who wants to see plain cooked pasta?  Although, it is curly pasta which is always fun.
QPB_Queso

All mixed up and ready for more cheese!
QPB_ReadyToBake-001

Cheeese!  Or should I say Queeeeso!
QPB_ReadyToBake

All baked and lovely
QPB_Baked

This made 8 HUGE servings for me.  So large, I am contemplating giving some servings away.  I liked this.  It isn’t as cheesy as a normal mac and cheese, but it is definitely in there.  I think it could use a little more seasoning, though.  It has a tablespoon of cumin and I added who knows how much garlic, but I still couldn’t taste any of it.  The salsa and rotel contribute some flavor, so it isn’t bland.  Next time, I am going to add some spice and maybe do the cheese sauce at 1.5 recipe.  Using both the rotel and salsa adds a few too many tomatoes for me.  Just one would suffice.  I would probably go for the salsa before the rotel next time because I always have it in my fridge and it has more ingredients than the rotel.  Definitely looking forward to making this again.

Leave a Reply

