Easy Spicy Chicken

When I was looking through this recipe, I clicked on the link and scanned the Baked Sweet and Sour chicken.  I assumed the that they would be oven baked chicken.  I should have read both the recipes more thoroughly.  The chicken was still fried on the stove and then baked for an hour.  Not something that I can conceivably do after work during the week.

Ingredients
FCC_Ingredients

All mixed up in a glass measuring cup – because I am cool like that
FCC_Mixed

Confession time.  I did the above a few days ago, before I realized that the chicken I was going to use went bad.  No biggie, I just threw it in the fridge.  I cut up two chicken breasts (about a pound), nuked the sauce and poured it over the chicken.  I baked it in the oven at about 350-375 (how ever my oven was feeling today).

This is it after 15 minutes.  I stirred it and put it back in for another 15 minutes
FCC_FirstBake

After another 15
FCC_SecondBake

And this was my dinner
FCC_Plated

As you can see, the sauce was thin.  At first, I wasn’t a fan, but the more I ate it, the more I liked it.  I think there is a little off about the ratios.  I could taste the wing sauce more than anything.  Maybe a little more vinegar or sugar.  Maybe cut down on the sauce.  I do think that the next time, I will be making it in a pot on the stove and letting it thicken up some more before adding it to the chicken.

It is worth making again.  With the changes I made, it only took a half hour to cook.  The sauce was simple to make, too.  This could very easily be a weeknight dinner.  The original post is correct – it is not as spicy as you would thing.  There was no lasting heat, just a hint of it.

 

2 responses to “Easy Spicy Chicken

  1. I sometimes use a tablespoon of corn starch mixed with a teaspoon of water to thicken sauces – looks good though, you had me at Frank’s hot wing sauce! 😀

Leave a Reply

