A different type of comfort noodles

When I was growing up, my mother would make us some kind of noodle boiled in chicken broth when we were sick.  I saw this and it was a very similar recipe.  I thought it would make a simple side for a busy weeknight.

Ingredients.  Yep, that’s it.  The yellow container is soup base.  The original called for bouillon, but this was all I had.  It worked just fine.
AN_Ingredients

Done.  I don’t have many pictures because it was SO simple.  One pot, boil twice and cover for 30 minutes, stirring 2-3 times.
AN_Done

Plated
AN_Plated

I LOVED these noodles.  They are effortless except some stirring.  I think this may just replace my mother’s orzo and broth for when I am sick.  I ate on them for a while, but it does make a lot.  I would think it would go with anything.  Maybe some beef and gravy poured over top of it.  Oooh – that sounds like a good idea.  Coming up at some point.

 

Leave a Reply

